Our community is committed to Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, Belonging, and Justice (DEIBJ) as we unite around our love of birds at AOS 2024.

Nicole Michel, Co-chair

Director of Quantitative Science with National Audubon Society

Dr. Nicole Michel, Director of Quantitative Science at National Audubon Society, leads a team that develops conservation impact metrics and models bird population trends and drivers. Nicole is an AOS Fellow, leads the AOS meeting BRIDGE Committee, and serves on the Conservation Committee. Nicole also serves on the Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Justice Community of Practice Steering Committee at the North American Bird Conservation Initiative.

Zachery Holmes | Co-chair

M.S. Student, Ph.D. student, University of Wyoming

Zachery graduated with his M.Sc. in the Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation at the University of Florida in May 2024. His thesis assessed vegetation characteristics and grassland avifauna responses to varying management techniques on cow-calf operations in south-central Florida. Zachery is starting a Ph.D. at the University of Wyoming under the advisement of Dr. Patrick Kelley in Fall 2024 studying seed dispersal networks in Oahu, Hawai’i. He is serving as the co-chair of the Volunteer Coordination and DEIBJ committees and can be reached at Zholmes003@gmail.com.

Committee Members

Corrine Genier, University of Western Ontario
Garth Spellman, Denver Museum of Nature and Science
Kiah Williams, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Fabiola Rodriguez, Cornell University
Katherine Marthens, University of Saskatchewan