This committee is responsible for the administration and selection of student and postdoc travel awards and student presentation awards. The committee’s goal is to enable broader participation in ornithological conferences and events and to enrich the conference experience of those attending through the provisioning of feedback and the celebration of excellence.

Matt Carling | Co-chair

Associate Professor, Curator, University of Wyoming
Pronouns: he/him/his

Matt is an Associate Professor in the Department of Zoology and Physiology at the University of Wyoming. He is also the Curator of the University of Wyoming Museum of Vertebrates. His research primarily focuses on questions related to avian speciation and adaptation.

Morgan Tingley | Co-chair

Associate Professor, University of California, Los Angeles
Pronouns: he/him/his

Morgan is an Associate Professor in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at UCLA. His lab’s research focuses on the impacts of anthropogenic change on bird ecology, focusing on climate change impacts on birds in North America’s forests.

Jen Walsh

Research Associate, Cornell Lab of Ornithology, Cornell University
Pronouns: she/her/hers


Jen is a Research Associate in the Fuller Evolutionary Biology Lab at the Cornell Lab of Ornithology. Her research focuses on applying genomic tools to address questions in avian ecology, evolution, and conservation with a focus on the genomics of adaptation to harsh environmental conditions.

Dorothy Hill

Associate Professor, Mount Royal University, Calgary, Canada


Dorothy is an Associate Professor in the Department of Biology at Mount Royal University. She is a behavioral ecologist with a focus on grassland birds.

Special thanks to our conference supporters